Gay Marriage Vote

I’m really glad that gay marriage is legal in Ireland. I think it should be legal everywhere that any kind of marriage between people is legal. But I hate the fact that human rights can be decided by a majority. I got really upset once watching the New York legislature vote on legalizing gay marriage in that state too, so I don’t know how any place can make it legal in a way that won’t piss me off. Maybe if they just all say (spontaneously), like, how is this even a question? And then it automatically becomes legal. From what I understand, laws don’t work that way, though.

It just really bugs me when a bunch of people get to vote on basic rights – rights that many or maybe even all of them already have – for one group of people. But anyway, I’m glad that this particular group of people in Ireland now has this particular right.

Leave a Reply

